Skip to content

Konglish of the Week: A Passed Out Man

January 27, 2010

OK, so this isn’t quite konglish today. It is, in fact, a passed out man:

A passed out man

I discovered Passed Out Man two doors down from my apartment when arriving back at my place around 2:30 AM. The scene was so 2:30 AM in Korea that I could not resist snapping a few pictures and I cannot resist posting one here. Alas, we drink quite a bit here in Korea — Koreans and expats alike. But we mostly make it back to our apartment beds or pass out in the street. Occasionally some Korean ajosshi (older or married man) will spend all night on the subway, harassing foreigners and women until the break of dawn or until he passes out in a subway train. But it is the rare man who makes it all the way back to his apartment and then passes out, right in front of his own door. So Passed Out Man, Brown Passports commends you for originality in the sport of Korean drunkenness.

3 Comments
  1. CT1504 permalink
    February 3, 2010 9:02 am

    Awesome photo! You may want to consider submitting this at http://blackoutkorea.blogspot.com/

  2. ROKDROP Fan permalink
    February 3, 2010 11:03 pm

    Ahh, this was a regular scene at one of my early residences in Korea. What happens is that drunk guy makes it home, but the wife kicks his skinny ass out to sleep in the hallway for the night.

    I saw the same scene every weekend for about 6 months. It’s funny.

    Occasionally, I would see a passed out adjussi on the sidewalk in his suit. My brother in law is a cop and he said that it is routine for police in some busier areas to do a sting. They set a passed out cop in a suit on the sidewalk in front of a high traffic area. Then they wait for someone to take his wallet.

    Anyway, passed out adjussis always equal great photo op!

  3. Yanson permalink
    February 17, 2010 2:02 pm

    I’m catching up on your blog. I wish there was a 3rd party to take a picture of you taking a picture of the passed out guy, with a thought bubble coming out of the passed out koreans head saying ‘f***ing tourists’

Comments are closed.

