Skip to content

I’m a Seoul Man, Part 2: Teaching in South Korea

September 17, 2009

I work as an English teacher at Kyeong-in Middle School, with around 1000 students. I teach 1st and 3rd graders (the equivalent of 7th and 9th graders) and teach each class only once a week — I have 22 different classes, and I teach each lesson 11 times in a week. I work with co-teachers (the Korean teachers that speak English and grammar) but they generally do more disciplining and explanation than preparation and teaching. My specific job is to get up in front of a class and to say things to the students, then get kids to say those things back to me the same way. A speaking teacher, basically.

Koreans are incredibly good at reading and writing skills in English, but their speaking skills leave something to be desired, largely thanks to lack of use, shyness and the sometimes mediocre speaking skills of their Korean teachers. Thus, the Korean government decided a few years ago to begin bringing in native English speakers such as yours truly to teach students once a week and get them to start talking and using the language more naturally and fluently — and thus EPIK was born, the “English Program in Korea,” the employer for most ESL foreigner teachers in Korea.

As well as this program seems to work, there is one big problem for native teachers who come in and try to teach Korean children — the idea of “saving face” is a huge deal in Korea and many students are already too shy or scared to talk in class for fear of being wrong. The presence of a foreigner makes this many times worse. My classes are thus split fairly evenly between those classes that are either exceptional, good, or loud and out of control, and those classes which range from eerily to catatonically silent. To get these students talking is like pulling teeth, and it takes a lot of effort to stop calling on the one student that seems perfectly comfortable speaking, present in every class, and try to revivify the 16-25 other students that seem content to simply stare at you, bewildered, for 45 minutes, without saying a damn thing.

That being said, these painful classes are often more than made up for by the excellent classes where the kids come in with bright smiles and are anxious to participate and begin learning. And, to provide a good measure of balance, there are classes that are loud and obnoxious and are a challenge to keep under control, but who generally and enthusiastically participate once you can capture their attention. There are certainly a wide diversity of students, and perhaps this is only the bleary-eyed myopia of a foreign observer and a ingenuous newbie teacher, but amidst this diversity I have not seen any out-and-out delinquents or screw-ups, when my personal experience in American middle school left me religiously convinced that this period of life is the fountainhead of such characters.

But then, Korea in general is bafflingly free of such behavior even in adult life. I have been told that the district I am living in one of the poorest in Seoul, and that my middle school is one of the poorest schools in the district. But crime, both here and in my district, is virtually nonexistent (the only place one has to watch oneself in is Itaewon, the foreigners’ district and home of the American military bases, the spawning ground of dozens of drunks who pick pointless fights left and right). When one considers that Seoul is a city almost double the size of New York City, and that a placement as a teacher in the poorest school in the poorest borough of New York City is tantamount to getting hired as a shrubbery sculptor in the Amazon rainforest, the label ‘poorest school in the poorest district’ seems no more than an ill-chosen inspirational slogan for the school’s front-lawn billboard, and thus registers only droll confusion for me.

Without further ado, some pictures. Apologies for not having more shots of the kids, but I felt creepy and unprofessional going around and taking pictures of them:

41 Comments
  1. Laura G permalink
    September 18, 2009 2:49 pm

    You’re totally kidding about the kimchi thing, right?

  2. jgerminario permalink*
    September 18, 2009 4:03 pm

    Nope hahaha

  3. September 19, 2009 3:21 pm

    wow i like your blog, how cool to work in seoul can you speak or read korean?

  4. September 20, 2009 2:06 am

    Wow, you live in Korea. Hello!

  5. June 7, 2012 12:52 am

    I adore the website layout ! How do you make it!? It is very good.

  6. June 20, 2012 10:41 pm

    I tried looking at your website on my ipod touch and the page layout doesnt seem to be right. Might want to check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellphone layouts are not really working with your web page.

  7. June 22, 2012 11:41 am

    I believe that one of your advertisements initiated my internet browser to resize, you might well want to place that on your blacklist.

  8. account permalink
    June 24, 2012 6:42 am

    How come you dont have your site viewable in mobile format? Can not see anything in my phone.

  9. June 25, 2012 5:19 pm

    If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your webpage? I am shopping for a great host and your site appears to be fast and up almost all the time

  10. June 26, 2012 10:36 am

    Awesome post ! Cheers for, visiting this blog page dude! Ill email you soon. I did not know that.

  11. buy leather wallets permalink
    June 27, 2012 5:26 am

    If you dont mind, where do you host your web site? I am shopping for a great host and your weblog seams to be quick and up most the time

  12. June 27, 2012 3:30 pm

    Jesus Christ there is a great deal of spammy feedback on this website. Have you ever thought about attempting to get rid of them or putting in a extension?

  13. June 28, 2012 10:33 am

    I like that site layout ! How was it made!? It is really good.

  14. buy fridge freezer permalink
    June 30, 2012 12:34 pm

    When I start your Feed it appears to be a ton of garbage, is the issue on my side?

  15. June 30, 2012 3:32 pm

    Hi, I just hopped over to your website via StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might usually read, but I liked your thoughts none the less. Thank you for creating some thing worthy of browsing.

  16. July 1, 2012 11:12 am

    This is a wonderful blog, could you be interested in doing an interview about just how you created it? If so e-mail me!

  17. July 2, 2012 5:24 am

    How come you dont have your web site viewable in wap format? Can not view anything in my Droid.

  18. July 4, 2012 11:25 am

    Whilst I truly like this publish, I think there was an spelling error near to the finish from the third section.

  19. July 4, 2012 3:57 pm

    Cool post ! Thanks for, posting on this blog mate! I will message you some time! I did not know that.

  20. July 6, 2012 11:21 am

    Virtually all of the responses on this blog page dont make sense.

  21. July 6, 2012 7:49 pm

    Cool post ! Cheers for, writing on my blog page dude. Ill message you again. I did not know that!

  22. July 7, 2012 8:54 pm

    This blog has got lots of really useful stuff on it. Cheers for informing me!

  23. July 8, 2012 10:17 am

    Cool post . Thanks for, visiting this blog page dude. Ill email you again. I didnt realise that!

  24. July 9, 2012 9:59 am

    Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Rss feed is not functioning today. I tried including it to my Google reader account and got absolutely nothing.

  25. July 9, 2012 10:07 am

    How do you make this blog look this good! Email me if you want and share your wisdom. !

  26. July 9, 2012 10:42 pm

    Oh man! This website is awesome. How can I make it look like this ?

  27. July 10, 2012 3:55 am

    After I open up your Feed it appears to be a lot of nonsense, is the issue on my part?

  28. July 10, 2012 12:11 pm

    I tried taking a look at your website with my new iphone 4 and the design doesnt seem to be right. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellular phone layouts are not working with your site.

  29. July 10, 2012 4:39 pm

    I experimented with looking at your blog on my new iphone 4 and the format doesnt seem to be correct. Might want to check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellphone layouts are not really working with your site.

  30. July 11, 2012 3:29 am

    How come you do not have your web site viewable in mobile format? cant see anything in my iPhone.

  31. July 11, 2012 10:41 am

    How come you do not have your website viewable in mobile format? Can not view anything in my iPhone.

  32. July 12, 2012 12:33 am

    I experimented with taking a look at your blog on my new iphone 4 and the design doesnt seem to be correct. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellular phone layouts are not really working with your web site.

  33. July 12, 2012 10:09 am

    Many of the comments on this particular website dont make sense.

  34. July 12, 2012 11:05 pm

    Jesus Christ theres plenty of spammy comments on this web page. Have you actually believed about attempting to remove them or putting in a extension?

  35. July 13, 2012 3:57 am

    Is it okay to place a portion of this in my personal site if perhaps I publish a reference point to this webpage?

  36. July 14, 2012 2:33 pm

    I believe that one of your advertisements initiated my web browser to resize, you may well want to get that on your blacklist.

  37. July 14, 2012 9:20 pm

    An insightful post there mate . Thanks for that !

  38. July 14, 2012 9:24 pm

    The structure for your website is a little bit off in Epiphany. Even So I like your weblog. I might need to install a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

  39. July 15, 2012 10:24 am

    A interesting blog post there mate . Thanks for that !

  40. July 16, 2012 10:24 am

    If you could email me with some hints & tips about how you made this blog site look like this , I would be thankful.

Trackbacks

  1. My Christmas Present to You Readers: Ever-Browns « Painting the Passports Brown

Comments are closed.

